Semaine nationale de sensibilisation au sida chez les Autochtones 2015
Du 30 novembre au 5 décembre : Description des événements régionaux

Lundi 30 novembre 2015
Regina, Saskatchewan

Forum de leadership
Pensons mondial, agissons local : Quel est votre rôle?

Nous faisons appel à tous les leaders — officiels et officieux — pour qu’ils se joignent à nous et fassent partie de la solution. Le leadership est la clé à une réponse coordonnée dans la lutte au VIH au sein des communautés autochtones de Saskatchewan. Dans le présent forum seront mis en commun outils et mécanismes d’une réponse coordonnée. Responsables politiques; décideurs; ministres; présidents-directeurs généraux d’entreprises; membres de l’Assemblée législative; médecins et personnel infirmier; leaders, chefs et conseils de la communauté; directeurs de la santé aux paliers communautaire, provincial et fédéral; leaders des jeunes, des organisations; et autres travaillant pour les droits de la personne, la lutte au VIH et les déterminants sociaux de la santé et les questions autochtones, joignez vos efforts aux nôtres dans la création d’une réponse communautaire au VIH.

17 h : Réception. Hors-d’œuvre et rafraîchissements. 17 h 30 : Programme officiel. Réseau espoir SIDA de toutes les nations et Saskatchewan Indigenous Strategy on HIV and AIDS, dignitaires et invités spéciaux. Discours : Trevor Stratton, délégué de l’Amérique du Nord, coordonnateur du Conseil de coordination du programme de l’ONUSIDA, Groupe de travail indigène international sur le VIH et le sida (GTIIVS); 19 h : Réseautage.

Co-présenté par : Réseau espoir SIDA de toutes les nations, Groupe de travail indigène international sur le VIH et le sida, Saskatchewan Indigenous Council on HIV & AIDS, Réseau canadien autochtone du sida

Endroit :                   Hôtel Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, 1818 Victoria Avenue, Regina, Saskatchewan
Heure :                      17 h — 20 h HNC

Personne-ressource :    Jann Ticknor jannticknor@sasktel.net

Inscription :       (Nombre de places limité) Formulaire en ligne
http://allnationshope.ca/calendar/post/leadership-forum

__________________________________

Mardi 1er décembre 2015
Calgary, Alberta

Activité de lancement de la Semaine de sensibilisation au sida chez les Autochtones 2015

Le 1er décembre, Journée mondiale du sida, le Réseau canadien autochtone du sida procédera au lancement de la Semaine de sensibilisation au sida chez les Autochtones 2015, et ce, en collaboration avec nombre de partenaires clés régionaux. L’événement sera axé sur les peuples de Métis et les Autochtones vivant avec le VIH et le sida (AVVS), adhérant à nos connexions historiques et à la conviction que toutes nos voix importent. Par ailleurs, l’événement reconnaîtra nos origines en donnant la parole à un panel d’AVVS et servira à nous rappeler que les AVVS sont les guides intérieurs concernant notre réponse au VIH, aux soins, aux traitements, au soutien, à la prévention et au dépistage. Une cérémonie traditionnelle permettra également l’accueil de Maistoo’a Waastan (un survivant au VIH de longue date) par sa famille et la communauté de la nation des Piikani d’Alberta; il s’agira, en quelque sorte, d’une cérémonie soulignant un retour chez soi. En outre, l’événement comportera un certain nombre de conférenciers et amplifiera le besoin pour une réceptivité communautaire et des approches protégeant la culture.

Co-présenté par :  Shining Mountains Community Living Servces; nation des Métis de la région 3 d’Alberta; Réseau canadien autochtone du sida; Fondation Kimamow Atoskanow; programme Strong Voices – HIV Community Links; HIV Network of Edmonton Society;

Endroit :                   Calgary Festival Hall, 1215 10th Ave. SE, Calgary, Alberta

Heure :                      10 h — 14  HNR

Personne-ressource :             Ken Clement, kenc@caan.ca : 604 266-7616
Merv Thomas, mervt@caan.ca : 604 266-7616
RSVP pour le 26 novembre en suivant ce lien :
www.bit.ly/aaaw2015launchrsvp

__________________________________

Mercredi 2 décembre 2015
Montréal, Québec

Femmes et enfants autochtones : Protection du cœur de nos communautés

La violence affecte les femmes et les filles autochtones, leurs familles et leurs communautés, et bouleverse des femmes et des filles de tous les milieux. Une femme autochtone vivant avec le VIH dénonçait récemment ce fait, le qualifiant de « violence institutionnelle ». L’événement de la Semaine de sensibilisation de Montréal rassemblera un certain nombre d’orateurs, de gardiens des connaissances, de fournisseurs de service et de travailleurs en soins de santé qui feront partager les mesures entreprises pour traiter des questions de justice sociale qui ont finalement un impact sur la santé de nos communautés. Enfin, l’événement se terminera par un cercle de partage dont les approches sont basées sur les forces pour lutter contre le VIH et le sida dans les communautés autochtones.

Co-présenté par : Foyer pour Femmes Autochtones de Montréal; Réseau canadien autochtone du sida (RCAS); Étude sur la santé sexuelle et reproductive des femmes vivant avec le VIH au Canada;

Coalition des organismes communautaires québécois de lutte contre le sida (COCQ-SIDA)

Endroit :  L’Auberge Saint-Gabriel
426, rue Saint-Gabriel, Montréal, Québec

Heure :                 10 h — 14 h HNE

Inscription :       L’enregistrement est GRATUIT, mais les places sont limitées; veuillez communiquer
avec Monique Fong ou Aurélie Hot pour vous inscrire avant le 30 novembre 2015.

Personne-ressource :       Monique Fong — monique@caan.ca
                                                     Aurélie Hot — aurelie.hot@cocqsida.com
                                                    Carrie Martin — carrie.nwsm@gmail.com (jusqu’au 13 novembre 2015 seulement)

__________________________________

Mercredi 2 décembre 2015
Winnipeg, Manitoba

2e événement pour les femmes : Le dépistage, c’est sexy

Cérémonie du calumet et festin

Co-présenté par :    Réseau canadien autochtone du sida (RCAS); Ka Ni Kanichihk : Sisters of Fire et
Two Spirit Manitoba

Endroit :       WestEnd Commons Neighbourhood Resource Centre,
641 St. Mathews Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Heure :         10 h 30 — 13 h HNC.

Personne-ressource :    À venir

 

__________________________________

Vendredi 4 décembre 2015
Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Les personnes bispirituelles, le VIH et l’hépatite C

Pendant quelques heures, joignez-vous à nous pour des activités et des ateliers autour du VIH et de l’hépatite C. Wabanaki Two Spirit Alliance présentera son nouveau projet de recherche, et Healing our nations enchaînera avec quelques présentations. Un repas sera servi.

Co-présenté par :  Wabanaki Two Spirit Alliance, RCAS

Endroit :    Centre d’amitié autochtone micmac
2158 Gottingen St, Halifax Nouvelle-Écosse

Heure :      10 h — 14 h, heure de l’Atlantique

Personne-ressource :   Arthur Miller, adavemiller@icloud.com:

__________________________________

Samedi 5 décembre 2015
Inuvik, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Campagne de sensibilisation des Inuit et foire sur le VIH et le sida

Pauktuutit organise, en collaboration avec la corporation régionale d’Inuvialuit, une campagne de sensibilisation des Inuit et une foire sur le VIH et le sida. L’événement commencera avec une prière, qui sera suivie d’un événement de sensibilisation au VIH et au sida comportant : un jeu de bingo sur la sexualité saine, une chasse au trésor éducative pour jeunes et adultes, un kiosque de ressources pour jeunes et adultes inuits, des orateurs, des prix de présence et des tirages, et une tribune libre avec cabine photographique. Par la suite, des rafraîchissements seront servis et une scène ouverte sera disponible pour des performances culturelles. Nous partagerons ensemble nos anecdotes et nous nous divertirons! L’événement finira avec des discours de clôture de Pauktuutit et de la corporation régionale d’Inuvialuit, puis une prière de clôture.

Co-présenté par :     Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, corporation régionale d’Inuvialuit

Endroit :                      Inuvialuit Community Corporations, 102 Mackenzie Road, Inuvik, Territoires du
Nord-Ouest

Heure :      19 h — 22 h HNR

Personne-ressource :     Sipporah Enuaraq (Pauktuutit) senuaraq@pauktuutit.ca :
Emily Reese (Pauktuutit) erees@pauktuutit.ca :

__________________________________

Jeudi 10 décembre 2015
Ottawa, Ontario

Déjeuner parlementaire des jeunes

Le public et les membres du Parlement sont invités au déjeuner de la Semaine de sensibilisation au sida chez les Autochtones afin d’approfondir leurs connaissances sur les problématiques que vivent les Autochtones du Canada en ce qui concerne le VIH et le sida. Le déjeuner commencera avec des prières d’ouverture, la performance de chanteurs inuits, et des discours par Ken Clement, P-D G du RCAS; Marnie Davidson, membre du conseil d’administration de la Coalition interagence sida et développement; et un représentant du caucus sur le VIH, le sida et la tuberculose. Les orateurs incluront, entre autres, Art Zoccole, président du RCAS; des Autochtones vivant avec le VIH et le sida; et des représentants de Alternatives Cameroon et de Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada. L’activité se terminera avec des discours de clôture du caucus sur le VIH, le sida et la tuberculose, des interprètes de chant guttural et une prière de clôture.

Endroit :   Salle à manger du Parlement
6e étage de l’Édifice du Centre, Colline du Parlement, Ottawa, Ontario

Heure :   7 h 30 — 8 h 45 HNE

Personne-ressource :  RSVP avant le 26 novembre à 17 h HNE auprès de
Jessica Danforth JessicaD@caan.ca

 

What CAAN Says

About CAAN.

The Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network (CAAN) is a not-for-profit coalition of individuals and organizations which provides leadership, support and advocacy for Aboriginal people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS, regardless of where they reside.

Aboriginal AIDS Awareness Week 2015

November 30 – December 5: Regional Evens

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS:       

Mon, November 30, 2015        
Regina, SK

Leadership Forum Think Globally – Act Locally: What is Your Role? Coordinating a Response to HIV in Saskatchewan’s Indigenous Communities

Calling all leaders – formal and informal – to join us and be part of the solution. Leadership is key to a coordinated response to HIV in Saskatchewan’s Indigenous Communities. This is a forum where tools and mechanisms of a coordinated response will be shared. Policy makers, decision-makers, MPs, corporate CEOs, MLAs, doctors and nurses, community leaders, Chiefs and Councils, community, provincial, and federal health directors, youth leaders, organizational leaders, and others working in human rights, HIV and social determinants of health, and Indigenous issues. Please join us in building our community response to HIV.

5pm Reception hors d’oeuvres & refreshments; 5:30pm Formal Program All Nations Hope Network and SICHA, dignitaries and special guests, Keynote ~ Trevor Stratton, North American Delegate, UNAIDS Programme Coordinating Board Coordinator; International Indigenous Working Group on HIV and AIDS (IIWGHA); 7pm Networking.

Co-hosted by:     All Nations Hope Network, International Indigenous Working Group on HIV & AIDS, Saskatchewan Indigenous Council on HIV & AIDS, Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network

Location:   Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, 1818 Victoria Avenue, Regina, SK
Time:          5:00 pm – 8:00 pm CST
Contact:     Jann Ticknor jannticknor@sasktel.net
Register:   (Space is Limited) Submit Online

__________________________________
Tues, December 1, 2015        
Calgary, AB

Aboriginal AIDS Awareness Week 2015 Launch Event

On December 1st, on World AIDS Day, the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network will launch the 2015 Aboriginal AIDS Awareness Week alongside a number of key regional partners. The event places a focus on Métis peoples and Aboriginal People Living with HIV and AIDS (APHAs), embraces our historical connections and the belief that all our voices matter. The event will also acknowledge our beginnings by hearing from a panel of APHAs and will serve to remind us that APHAs are the inner guides in our response to HIV, care, treatment, support, prevention and testing.  A traditional ceremony will also acknowledge Maistoo’a Waastan (long-term survivor living with HIV) by his family and community from the PIIKANI Nation in Alberta, as a kind of coming home ceremony. The event will also feature a number of speakers and amplify the need for community readiness and culturally safe approaches.

Co-hosted by:    Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network; Shining Mountains Community Living Services; Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3; Kimamow Atoskanow Foundation; Strong Voices Program – HIV Community Links; HIV Network of Edmonton Society.

Location:   Calgary Festival Hall, 1215 10th Ave SE, Calgary, AB
Time:           10:00 am – 4:00 pm MST
Contact:      Ken Clement, kenc@caan.ca :: 604-266-7616
Merv Thomas, mervt@caan.ca :: 604-266-7616
RSVP by Nov 26, register online here 

__________________________________
Wed, December 2, 2015                
Montreal, QC

Aboriginal Women and Children: Protecting the Heart of Our Communities

Violence affects Aboriginal women and girls, their families and their communities, and impacts women and girls from all walks of life. One Aboriginal woman living with HIV recently called it out, and named it as “institutional violence”. The Montreal AAAW event will bring together a number of speakers, knowledge keepers, service providers and healthcare workers to share what they are doing to address these social justice issues that ultimately have an impact on the health of our communities. The event will close with a sharing circle on strengths-based community approaches to addressing HIV/AIDS in Aboriginal communities.

Co-hosted by: Native Women’s Shelter of Montreal (NWSM); Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network (CAAN); Canadian HIV Women and Reproductive Health Cohort Study (CHIWOS PAW – QC); and Coalition des organismes communautaires québécois de lutte contre le sida (COCQ-SIDA)

Location:    L’Auberge St. Gabriel – 426 Rue Saint Gabriel, Montreal, QC
Time:           10:00 am – 2:00 pm EST
Registration:    Registration is FREE but spaces are limited so please contact either Monique Fong or Aurélie Hot to register before November 30, 2015.
Contact:       Monique Fong – monique@caan.ca :: Aurélie Hot –  aurelie.hot@cocqsida.com

__________________________________
Wed, December 2, 2015                
Winnipeg, MB

Womens’ Event #2: Honouring Our Stories, Honouring Ourselves

In honour of World AIDS Day we’re starting a Winnipeg campaign to encourage testing in our community. Join us, Ka Ni Kanichihk’s Sisters of Fire, Two Spirit Manitoba and CAAN, for a Pipe Ceremony followed by a Potluck Feast, stew and bannock in honour of World AIDS Day.

This year we will talk about testing. Testing can be scary and strange. But knowledge is strength and strength is sexy. Stigma won’t stop us from sharing our truths.

Co-hosted by: Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network (CAAN); Ka Ni Kanichihk: Sisters of Fire, and Two Spirit Manitoba

Location:    WestEnd Commons Neighbourhood Resource Centre, 641 St. Mathews Avenue, Winnipeg, MB
Time:          10:30 am – 1:00 pm CST
Contact:       Laverne Gervais :: lgervais@kanikanichihk.ca :: (204) 232-1935

__________________________________

Fri, December 4, 2015        
Halifax, NS

Two Spirit People and HIV and HCV

Two-Spirit AAAW EventJoin us for a few hours of entertainment and workshops surrounding HIV and HCV. Wabanaki Two Spirit Alliance will present their new research project, followed by presentations from Healing Our Nations. Lunch will be served.

Co-hosted by:    Wabanaki Two Spirit Alliance, Healing Our Nations, CAAN

Location:      Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre – 2158 Gottingen St, Halifax. NS
Time:             10:00 am – 2:00 pm PST AST
Contact:       Arthur Miller, adavemiller@icloud.com ::

__________________________________
Sat, December 5 2015    
Inuvik, NWT

Inuit Awareness Raising Event and HIV/AIDS Fair

In partnership with the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC), Pauktuutit is organizing the Inuit Awareness Raising Event and HIV/AIDS Fair. The event will open with a prayer, which will be followed by an HIV/AIDS focused awareness raising event involving: The Healthy Sexuality Bingo game, Educational stamp/scavenger hunt for adults and youth, HIV/AIDS resource table for Inuit adults and youth, Speakers, Door prizes and raffle, and Speakers’ corner photo booth. This will be followed by refreshments and an open stage for cultural performances. Together we will share stories and have fun! The event will end with closing remarks from Pauktuutit and the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and a closing prayer.

Co-hosted by:     Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Location:     Inuvialuit Community Corporations, 102 Mackenzie Road, Inuvik, NWT
Time:             7:00 pm – 10:00 pm MST
Contact:       Sipporah Enuaraq (Pauktuutit) senuaraq@pauktuutit.ca ::
Emily Reese (Pauktuutit) erees@pauktuutit.ca ::

__________________________________
Thurs, December 10, 2015        
Ottawa, ON

Youth – Parliamentary Breakfast

The public and members of Parliament are invited to the Aboriginal AIDS Awareness Week breakfast session to learn more about the HIV and AIDS issues facing Aboriginal people in Canada. The breakfast will commence with opening prayers, Inuit singers, and opening remarks from Ken Clement – CAAN CEO, Marnie Davidson – ICAD Chair of Board of Directors, and an HIV/AIDS and Tuberculosis (HAT) Caucus representative. Speakers will include representatives, such as, Art Zoccole – CAAN Chair, Aboriginal People Living with HIV/AIDS (APHA), Alternatives Cameroon, and Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada. The session will end with closing remarks from HAT Caucus, Inuit throat singers, and closing prayer.

Co-hosted by:

Location:     Parliamentary Dining Room
6th floor of Centre Block at Parliament Hill, Ottawa, ON
Time:             7:30 am – 8:45 am EST
Contact:       RSVP by Dec. 8 @ 5:00 pm EST,
Jessica Danforth JessicaD@caan.ca

 

 

What CAAN Says

About CAAN.

The Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network (CAAN) is a not-for-profit coalition of individuals and organizations which provides leadership, support and advocacy for Aboriginal people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS, regardless of where they reside.